Free Consultation
No upfront costs, no hidden fees

Georgia Workers' Compensation Medical FAQ's

Georgia Workers' Compensation Medical FAQ's

If you’ve been injured on the job, it is very important to know your rights, and the appropriate actions to take. Whether your injury is minor or serious, receiving medical treatment will be one of your top priorities. To make it simple for you, we’ve compiled a list of the most common workers’ comp medical questions we get and the answers to help you protect yourself after a work injury in Georgia.

  • Can I choose my doctor?
    • It is required that your employer has a list of at least six doctors for you to choose from in the case of a workplace injury. This is referred to as the “Panel of Physicians” and must include one orthopedic physician and not more than two “industrial clinics.”
  • Can I get a second opinion from another doctor regarding my treatment options?
    • You have the right to a second opinion by any physician you choose if you receive either Temporary Total Disability (TTD) or Temporary Partial Disability (TPD). The second opinion or Independent Medical Evaluation (IME) can only be exercised one time.
  • What if my chosen clinical physician recommends a specialist doctor like a neurosurgeon or orthopedist? 
    • In Georgia, your authorized treating physician can refer you to a medical specialist of their choice for your treatment. When the referral is made from your authorized treatment physician, the workers compensation insurance company should pay for the specialized treatment. This part of the law can allow you to see other doctors and still have the bills paid for by the insurance company.
  • Do I have to pay for the medical treatment that I receive after being injured on the job?
    • No. The Georgia workers’ compensation law provides that you are not responsible for paying any co-pays or deductibles for the medical treatment for your work injury. Sometimes, a medical provider may attempt to send you a bill for an amount that the insurance company did not pay. Even if the insurance company did not pay the full amount billed by the medical provider, you are not responsible for paying anything for the treatment.
  • Will I be reimbursed for travel expenses to/from my medical appointment?
    • You can be entitled to reimbursement up to $.40 per mile for every trip to and from your medical appointments. If your trips exceed a required travel time of 4 hours, you can also be entitled to additional benefits, such as meals and lodging – $30 for meals and $80 for lodging. Be sure to keep any gas receipts, log your mileage, and keep any hotel/other accommodation records in relation to your claim.

Kaufman Law has helped thousands of injured Georgia workers. If you or a loved one has been injured, contact us today to ensure you receive all of the benefits that you are entitled to.

At Kaufman Law, P.C., we are passionate about protecting the rights of injured individuals. If you were recently injured in a negligence-related accident, turn to our reputable attorneys for the support you need during this difficult time. Our Atlanta personal injury attorneys work diligently to secure maximum compensation so that our clients can move on with their lives without experiencing financial strain as a result of their injuries. Should you decide to be represented by our firm, you can feel peace of mind in knowing you have enlisted the services of a reputable and caring law firm.


  • Bilingual legal services
  • Around-the-clock availability
  • Hospital and home visits
  • Free consultations
  • No legal fees unless we win your case