Every day, thousands of employees in Georgia clock in for another day of work. Nobody anticipates becoming the victim of a workplace accident, yet hundreds of employees end up in the hospital each year. In 2015, 180 workers in Georgia died from their job-related injuries. Hundreds of others suffered injuries that led to medical bills and lost wages. Injured employees almost always qualify for compensation for their losses through the Georgia workers’ compensation system.
Kaufman Law, P.C. consists of lawyers who care about the future of Georgia’s hardest workers. We’ve helped injured construction workers, farmers, truck drivers, manufacturing workers, office workers, and many others get compensation for their injuries through our aggressive legal services. We’ve filed workers’ compensation claims, brought forth personal injury lawsuits, filed appeals, and done whatever is necessary to protect the rights of injured employees. We may be able to help you, too.
How to Request Compensation for Your Job-Related injury
After an accident at work, time is of the essence. The quicker you act to pursue recovery, the stronger your claim. Don’t wait to start the process of workers’ compensation. When in doubt, talk to our attorneys at (404) 355-4000. The following are five basic steps to take to seek compensation for your accident in Atlanta:
- Report your accident to an employer or supervisor. In the state of Georgia, you have 30 days to report the accident to your employer before you lose your right to file. Explain what happened, who witnessed it, and what type of injuries you believe you have.
- Seek medical attention for your injuries. Go to the hospital right away after a workplace accident. You must see a doctor that’s on your employer’s insurance carrier’s approved list. Your employer has to give you at least six options to choose from by law. If it’s an emergency, you can go to a different doctor, but you must return to an approved doctor later.
- File a claim with your employer’s workers’ compensation insurance carrier. Your employer can file your claim (Form WC-14) for you, or you can do so yourself through the Georgia State Board of Workers’ Compensation website. File your claim as soon as possible so you don’t miss an important deadline.
- Keep a copy of your workers’ compensation claim. Wait for the insurance company to issue you a letter of acceptance or denial. If the insurer denies your claim, seek help from an attorney.
- Receive your benefits. If you have to miss more than seven days of work because of your injury, you should receive lost wage benefits within 21 days of your first missed day of work. Medical coverage should come in the form of a check by this deadline as well.
If you haven’t followed all of the above-mentioned steps, don’t worry. The team at Kaufman Law, P.C. can still assist you with the claims process. Running into roadblocks on your way to recovery, such as claim delay or denial, doesn’t mean you should stop fighting for compensation. Work with our experienced lawyers to improve your chances of a successful appeal. With our help, you maximize the odds of getting compensation for your work-related injury, either through a workers’ comp claim or a personal injury lawsuit. Contact us today to learn more.