In Georgia, your work-related injuries do not have to be “catastrophic” to qualify you for workers’ compensation benefits. Georgia’s workers’ compensation program covers almost all employees with any type of injury or illness sustained in the course of employment. Just because the board doesn’t see your injuries as catastrophic does not mean you shouldn’t apply for benefits. Broken bones, lacerations, pulled muscles, and concussions are all reasons to file workers’ compensation claims in Atlanta – catastrophic or not.
Kaufman Law, P.C. has helped injured employees in Atlanta for more than 40 years. We’re passionate about securing maximum workers’ compensation for the injured and ill on the job. Non-catastrophic injuries still result in medical bills and lost wages. Don’t shrug these losses off. Come to us for assistance in filing your workers’ compensation claim and reap the full benefits of the state’s compensation system. You deserve to realize your rights under Georgia law.
What is a Non-Catastrophic Injury?
The Georgia State Board of Workers’ Compensation published a Bill of Rights for the Injured Worker that details your rights and responsibilities. The Bill of Rights defines catastrophic and non-catastrophic injuries. A catastrophic injury is any of a certain nature and severity that stops the employee from returning to work and completing other work available. This includes bad burns, severe head/brain injuries, paralysis, blindness, and amputations. All other cases that do not qualify as catastrophic are considered non-catastrophic injuries.
As a worker with a non-catastrophic injury, the state’s workers’ compensation program entitles you to receive two-thirds of your weekly wages (up to $575 per week) for the duration of time that the injury makes you “totally disabled,” up to 400 weeks. If a physician states that you are capable of returning to work but with restrictions, you will still be eligible to receive two-thirds your average weekly wage, but only up to $383 per week for 350 weeks. The same is true if you can return to work but only for a lower-paying position.
How Can an Atlanta Attorney Help Your Workers’ Comp Claim?
After sustaining an injury on the job, you only have 30 days to give a “Notice of Injury” to your employer. Putting off your notice can hurt your case, and lead to questions of workers’ compensation fraud. Report your accident as soon as possible. Your employer must carry workers’ compensation insurance if he or she employees three or more people. If your employer doesn’t have insurance, seek help from our attorneys. Otherwise, your employer should help you file your workers’ compensation claim.
There are cases in which employers discourage injured workers from filing or retaliate against workers who do report accidents. If this is the case at your workplace, contact our Atlanta attorneys right away. It is against the law in Georgia for an employer to retaliate against you for taking advantage of your workers’ compensation rights. It does not matter how minor your injuries are – if they happened at work, file a workers’ compensation claim.
If you have any questions or concerns during the filing process, or simply want to ensure that you receive the maximum benefits possible, reach out to our Atlanta workers’ compensation attorneys. Get in touch online and we’ll get back to you as soon as possible, or dial (404) 355-4000 to schedule your free consultation.