As an employee in the state of Georgia, you have certain rights, privileges, and entitlements in terms of workers’ compensation. The Georgia State Board of Workers’ Compensation entitles injured workers to certain benefits, as long as they qualify. The board lists your entitlements and responsibilities in the Bill of Rights for the Injured Worker. Understanding what benefits you can receive under Georgia law can help you stand up for your rights and fight back against unfair or unfounded claim denials. Kaufman Law, P.C. is available to help with workers’ compensation claims in Atlanta. We can file your claim on your behalf and help you appeal denials.
Your Entitlements Under Georgia Law
The lawyers at Kaufman Law, P.C. dedicate their time to protecting the rights of Georgia’s injured workers. We know how much a work-related injury can impact your life and the lives of your family members. We work hard so that you don’t have to. The first step in protecting your legal rights is knowing what the law entitles you to after an on-the-job accident. The following are the general things you should be able to receive as an injured worker, under the Georgia workers’ compensation program:
- Medical rehabilitation and income benefits if you suffer an injury on the job.
- At least six certified doctors you can choose from after an injury on a list posted at your place of employment.
- Payment for all medical costs relating to your injury, including doctor and hospital bills, physical therapy and rehabilitation, medications, and travel expenses.
- Weekly income benefits if you lost more than seven days of work because of an injury.
- Payment for your first missed week if you miss more than 21 consecutive days because of an injury.
- A benefits check mailed to you within 21 days of your first missed day of work.
- Lifetime medical benefits if your injury is catastrophic and results in permanent disability.
- Two-thirds of your average weekly wage, up to $575 per week as long as you cannot return to work if your injuries are catastrophic in nature.
- Two-thirds of your average weekly wage, up to $575, no longer than 400 weeks for non-catastrophic injuries.
- Weekly benefits of up to $383 per week (for 350 weeks) if you can return to work but can only perform a duty that pays less than what you had been making before the accident.
- Benefits plus extra money in the form of a penalty if you do not receive your benefits by the time they are due.
Your dependents, such as a surviving spouse or children, also have some entitlements under the state’s workers’ comp system. If you die in a job-related accident, your dependents could be eligible for money benefits. These include burial expenses up to $7,500, plus two-thirds of your weekly wage (up to $575 per week) until your spouse remarries or cohabitates with someone of the opposite sex. The law entitles widowed spouses with no children up to a $230,000 maximum.
Get help for your workers’ compensation claim in Georgia. Call (404) 355-4000 or reach out to us online for a free case evaluation.