Georgia Is Going Hands-Free
In the state of Georgia, it has been illegal to text and drive for quite some time now, but the rules for talking on the phone haven’t been as strict. As of July 1st, that officially changed.
Back in May, Governor Nathan Deal signed the Hands-Free Georgia Act that puts a lot of new rules into place regarding the use of your phone while behind the wheel. The technical term for this act is “Code Section 40-6-241” but you will hear it more commonly referred to as the Hands-Free Act.
Important things to note about this new act that went into place Sunday is that there is no grace period. Warnings can be issued, but an officer has full authority to give a true violation immediately. Speaking of violations, it’s important to know what those may look like. The first violation will consist of one point on your license and a $50 fine. The next violation consists of two points on your license and a $100 fine. Finally, the third violation consists of three points on your license and a $150 fine. As most of us know, too many points on your license can result in your license being suspended. For good measure and for the sake of your bank account, make it a habit to put your phone up until you reach your destination.
- Can You Sue for Pain and Suffering in Georgia?
- Understanding the Legal Process: What to Do If Another Driver Sues You for a Car Accident in Georgia
- The Clock is Ticking: Time Limits for Filing a Lawsuit After a Car Accident in Georgia
- Can I Seek Legal Recourse for a Dog Bite Injury in Georgia?
- Loss of Earning Capacity is Not the Same as Loss of Income
- What To Do If Your Doctor Prescribes The Wrong Medication
- Kaufman Secures $975,035 Settlement for Client in Lyft Car Wreck Case
- Staying Safe as a Car Passenger
- Mistakes to Avoid After a Car Accident
- Attorney Kenneth Raley Secures $3.25
Million Settlement for Trucking Case