Driving too fast is a leading cause of road accidents in the United States — in 2019, speeding was a factor in 26 percent of all traffic fatalities, killing 9,478 or an average of more than 25 people a day, according to the National Safety Council. Operating a motor vehicle at a high rate of speed reduces the amount of time a driver has to react and avoid a crash in a dangerous situation, especially if you are also distracted by a visual or other distraction.
In addition to being dangerous to you and others on the road, speeding can also be a costly issue that can increase your insurance costs and add points to your driving record. If you receive a speeding citation, points are added to your license upon conviction of those violations. The Georgia speeding ticket points system ranges from two to six points as follows:
- 15 to 18 miles per hour (mph) over the speed limit 2 points
- 19 to 23 mph over the speed limit 3 points
- 24 to 33 mph over the speed limit 4 points
- 34 mph or more over the speed limit 6 points
So how much is a speeding ticket in Georgia?
Speeding violations are typically considered misdemeanor offenses in the state of Georgia, and misdemeanors are punishable by up to $1,000 in fines and/or a maximum of 12 months in jail, although speeding violations rarely result in a jail penalty. In Georgia, speeding ticket costs vary depending on where the violation occurred, how much over the speed limit you were traveling at the time you were caught, and your driving record at the time you received the ticket. Generally, the maximum fines for a first-time speeding violation are:
- $25 for exceeding the speed limit by more than five but not more than 10 mph
- $100 for exceeding the speed limit by more than 10 but not more than 14 mph
- $125 for exceeding the speed limit by more than 14 but less than 19 mph
- $150 for exceeding the speed limit by at least 19 but less than 24 mph, and
- $500 for exceeding the speed limit by at least 24 miles per hour, but less than 34 mph.
There are some situations that can result in police issuing higher fines and more severe penalties. For example, speeding violations in highway work zones are considered misdemeanors and can carry between $100 and $2,000 in fines/or up to 12 months in jail. Judges will also impose certain fees in addition to the set fine.
Super Speeders Beware
Anyone caught driving 75 mph or faster on a two-lane road or 85 mph or faster on other roadways is classified as a “Super Speeder” in Georgia. As the maximum speed limit in Georgia on rural interstates is 70 mph, that means you may only be driving 15 mph over the limit when you enter the Super Speeder range. There is a $200 Super Speeder surcharge applied to tickets issued by law enforcement for the violation. If you are caught as a Super Speeder in Georgia under 21 years of age, any offense that results in four or more points will result in the suspension of your license for a six-month period. Receiving a Super Speeder conviction can also cause your car insurance to go up significantly — you don’t want to be known as a Super Speeder!
Failure to pay the Super Speeder fee within 120 days of being officially notified will result in the suspension of your license or driving privileges. Payment of a $50 reinstatement fee in addition to the $200 Super Speeder fee is required to reinstate your license or driving privileges.
Law enforcement can also issue a ticket for reckless driving when individuals are speeding at a high rate considered to be in a manner that “disregards the safety of persons or property.” A charge of reckless driving in Georgia can lead to license suspension.
Paying Your Fine
If you choose to accept the penalty associated with the speeding violation you have been charged with, you should know it will go on your driving record. If you decide to pay the fine as issued, refer to the information on your speeding citation. To pay a Georgia speeding ticket you can do so in person, by phone, by mail or online. After you pay the fine, the court will forward a notice of the conviction to the Georgia Department of Driver Services. Any points connected to the violation will be added to your driving record.
Remember, you may think you’re driving at a safe rate of speed but too often even going slightly above the posted limit can put you in a dangerous situation when other factors come into play such as weather, road conditions, traffic volume and your own driving skills.